Lessons Learned: Complaining Changes Nothing, Action Changes Everything

Now I observe a lot on a daily basis and I try to see common traits between successful people and people who are not. I define success as in essence being able to do what you love for a living and getting compensated well for it. The one thing I can see a clear difference people who “make it” in life versus those who don’t is that successful people or people on their way to success don’t complain much, because they know it’s unproductive and does nothing for the situation. Look around you at the people complaining about how much they’re broke, how much the government is screwing us over, how little opportunity is available and I can bet you they’re not in situations you’d like to be in.

Image

To get along well in life we need to understand that complaining doesn’t make your bad situation better, you can’t complain all day about being broke and expect money to fall from the sky that’s not how life works and thankfully so or we’d have a bunch of lazy people complaining all the time instead of getting up and contributing something to the world.

I’ve had my fair share of adversities in life and the one thing that was for sure is that me saying “ugh! life is so unfair!” didn’t summon the magical “fix-a-life” fairies to solve all my problems, getting off my ass and putting in an incredible amount of work did. Complaining changes nothing, action changes everything.

In this life people won’t treat you the way you want to be treated all the time, circumstances might not be ideal, and you will experience adversity many times; however, rather than complain about the negative aspects of your situation, you should focus on what you want to happen and what the hell you’re going to DO to make it happen.

“Complaining not only ruins everybody else’s day, it ruins the complainer’s day, too. The more we complain, the more unhappy we get.” – Dennis Prager

