Lessons Learned: Always do more than you are paid for

“You have the good judgement to make yourself so useful, that the person to whom you sell your services cannot get along without you” – Napoleon Hill

d44eb645-5915-4e05-a22e-b00d5de1ea08

Now you may be thinking “do more than I get paid for? I’m no slave! You’re crazy Scotty! Crazy!!” don’t get your panties in a bundle, just hear me out a bit. I originally read about this concept from a book called “The Law Of Success” by Napoleon Hill which may be the single most important book I’ve ever read, I also read something very similar in another book I’m sure all people involved in business have read ; The 48 Laws Of Power under less pleasant terms in Law 11 – Learn to keep people dependent on you. Apart from these books we’ve all heard similar sentiments throughout our lives “always do your best” is really no different from “always do more than you get paid for” as they both are telling you to put your best foot forward no matter what. This is a lesson I’ve applied to my life working selflessly always and putting my all in whatever project I’m tasked to be apart of and I’ve never regretted doing so because I’ve gained more from building such a discipline in the long run.

There are two main reasons for putting your all towards every single task you’re hired to do no matter the compensation being received.

1st: By building a reputation of being someone who always does more than they are paid for and always goes the extra mile, you’ll benefit by comparison with the people around who don’t practice rendering more service than what they are paid for, they’ll pale in comparison to you! No one talks about the guy who does average work, people only speak highly of persons who do GREAT work consistently no matter what. Whether you are preaching to a congregation, practicing law or otherwise you will become more valuable and you will be able to command greater pay the minute you gain recognition as a person who does more than that for which he is paid.

 

2nd: Now the more important reason to deliver more work than you are paid for is that doing so consistently develops the habit of doing your best work possible at all times. Suppose that you wished to develop a strong right arm, and suppose that you tried to do so by tying the arm to your side with a rope, thus taking it out of use and giving it a long rest. Would disuse bring strength, or would it bring atrophy and weakness, resulting, finally in your being compelled to have the arm removed? You know that if you wished a strong right arm you could develop such an arm only by giving it the hardest sort of use. Out of resistance comes strength!

 

Two horses were carrying two loads. The front horse went well, but the rear horse was lazy. The men began to pile the rear horse’s load on the front horse; when they had transferred it all, the rear horse found it easy going, and he said to the front horse: “Toil and sweat! The more you try, the more you have to suffer.” When they reached the tavern, the owner said; “Why should I fodder two horses when I carry all on one? I had better give the one all the food it wants, and cut the throat of the other; at least I shall have the hide.” And so he did. – Fables, Leo Tolstoy 1828-1910

 

I think this may be the best lesson I’ve ever learned, I think so highly of it I’ve decided to make it apart of my new company’s values, we’ll do 2 free accounts for every 10 clients we have. Make it your business to render more service and better service than that for which you are paid and lo! Before you realize what had happened, you will find that THE WORLD IS WILLINGLY PAYING YOU FOR MORE THAN YOU DO!

 

